Press release

2 November 2023

BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Advocate Ruhul Kabir Rizvi strongly condemned and protested

Morning today, the Awami government's subordinate law and order forces arrested four people, including member secretary and strong leader of Dhaka Metropolitan North BNP, Aminul Haque. On the other hand, prominent Artist and University Teacher Sanjay De Ripon and Dhaka Metropolitan BNP leader Shipon were arrested by police from Jatrabari during the peaceful program. Advocate Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, Senior Joint Secretary General of BNP strongly condemned and protested the arrest of the leaders.

In a statement today, the senior joint secretary general of BNP said, "Sheikh Hasina has turned the entire country into a prison by taking control of the law and order forces. Due to the mass arrest of activists and the terrible oppression and torture on them, there is extreme instability and fear in the country. During the war of independence in 1971, the country was afraid of the invading forces. Just as the people were afraid, even after 52 years of independence, an anarchy of fear has been created in the country due to the torture and oppression of the illegal Awami government. Mid night government has completely destroyed all democratic practices and maintained the rule of one person in the country. The hope that people jumped into the liberation war has now turned into disappointment due to the brutal government. The fascist Awami government has turned the country into a cesspool in the side by taking away the rights of the opposition parties including the BNP. I want to say for the illegal government, resign immediately and have a non-partisan neutral government system during the election.

If you don't implement it, you have no choice but to stand in the people court of the people of this country."

BNP's Senior Joint Secretary General in statement called for the immediate and unconditional release of the arrested leaders including Aminul Haque.

Message Sender:

Md. Taiful Islam Tipu

Deputy Secretary

Bangladesh Nationalist Party-BNP.