BNP's road march has started from Mymensingh to Kishoreganj to demand the resignation of the government and the dissolution of parliament, elections under a non-partisan neutral government, and the unconditional release of former prime minister and BNP chairperson Begum Khaleda Zia.

The BNP began the 114-kilometre road march at about 11:30am following an inaugural rally at Bagar Bazar demanding resignation of the government, dissolving the parliament and holding the next general election under a non partisan and neutral government.

The inaugural rally was addressed by BNP standing committee members Abdul Moyeen Khan and Nazrul Islam Khan, joint secretary general Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal, organizing secretary Syed Emran Saleh Prince, assistant organizing secretaries Waris Ali Mamun and Shariful Alam, finance secretary Rashiduzzaman Millat, Juba Dal president Sultan Salauddin Tuku, Swechchhasebak Dal president SM Jilani and Chhatra Dal acting president Rashed Iqbal Khan.

Mymensingh south district BNP president Mahbubur Rahman Liton presided over the rally.

On the way to Kishoreganj, the road march is scheduled to meet in street rallies at several places including Churkhai Bazar, Sambhuganj China Crossing, Ishwarganj and Mymensingh North area.

The road march will end through a closing rally at the ground near Latifabad Eye Hospital in Kishoreganj where BNP standing committee members – Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan and Nazrul Islam Khan – are expected to address.

The road march will end with a closing rally at the ground adjacent to Latifabad Eye Hospital in Kishoreganj. Bnp standing committee members Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan and Nazrul Islam Khan are leading the march. They also spoke at the inaugural rally.

The main opposition party has already held five road marches -- Rangpur to Dinajpur, Bogura to Rajshahi, Bhairab to Sylhet, Barisal to Pirojpur and Jhenaidah to Khulna -- as parts of their September 19 –October 5 continuous programmes across Bangladesh.

The party also held several rallies in Dhaka and its adjacent areas to press home the same demands.

BNP will hold a road march in Faridpur division on October 3 and another road march from Cumilla to Chattogram on October 5.