The main opposition BNP announced a 15-day programme, including five road marches, as part of their ongoing one point-movement demanding resignation of the government.

The programme of activities will run from September 19 to October 3.

Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the programme at a press conference at the chairperson's Gulshan office on Monday (18 September) afternoon.

The BNP secretary general said, "We have started the movement to fulfill one-point demand of resignation of the government, cancellation of parliament and election under a non-party neutral government."

Many of our political alliances and parties, including us, have taken several programmes to make the movement successful, he added.

The five road marches spread across the country will start with Bhairab to Sylhet (Sylhet division) on September 21, followed by Barishal to Patuakhali (Barishal division) on September 23, one in Khulna division on September 26, then Mymensingh to Kishoreganj (Mymensingh division) on October 1, and finally Cumilla to Chattogram (Cumilla and Chattogram divisions) on October 3.

Leaders assigned to road marches:

A road march will be held on Thursday (September 21) in Bhairab-Brahmanbaria-Habiganj-Moulvibazar-Sylhet. BNP standing committee members Babu Gayeshwar Chandra Roy and Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury will lead the march.

Khulna Division Road March will be held on September 26. It will be led by Mirza Abbas and Babu Gayeshwar Chandra Roy. A Professional Convention will be held in Dhaka on September 26. Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan will be present as the chief guests.

On September 27, public rallies will be held at Gabtoli in Dhaka metropolitan and Fatullah in Narayanganj district. Nazrul Islam Khan and Begum Selima Rahman (Gabtoli), Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan and Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury (Fatullah) will be present as the chief guests.

A women's rally will be held in Dhaka on September 29. Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Begum Selima Rahman will be present at the rally. Moreover, a Workers' Convention in Dhaka will be held on September 30, road march from Mymensingh to Kishoreganj on October 1, farmers rally in Dhaka on October 2, and road marches in Comilla, Feni, Misrail and Chittagong on October 3.

Rallies in Dhaka:

Rallies are going to be held at Tongi in Gazipur and Zinzira in Keraniganj on September 19; Jatrabari, Uttara on September 22; Nayabazar, Aminbazar on September 25; Gabtoli and Fatullah in Narayanganj on September 27.

Women's rally will be held in Dhaka on September 29, workers' rally on September 30 and farmers' rally on October 2.

Mirza Fakhrul said, "Our political allies and parties who are in our simultaneous movement will announce their programs from their own position. They will decide and announce as many programs as they can do in their own way."

Responding to a question on if BNP can make the government resign through the announced agenda, the BNP leader said, "The situation will tell where the movement will turn."

BNP standing committee members Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, central leaders Khairul Kabir Khokon, Fazlul Haque Milon, Shahid Uddin Chowdhury Annie, Taiful Islam Tipu were present at the press conference.