Date: 15 June 2023

Condemnation and protest of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir

Golam Rabbani Nadeem, Jamalpur District Correspondent of, Bakshiganj Upazila Daily Manabzamin and 71 TV Correspondent Journalist Gholam Rabbani Nadeem was seriously injured in an attack by terrorists of the ruling party in Pathati area of Bakshiganj Upazila on his way back home after professional work on June 14th at 10:00 pm, Mymensingh. BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir has expressed deep concern, anger and strong condemnation over the death in the Medical College Hospital.

In a statement today, BNP Secretary General said, "There is no security for the life and property of the people of the country in the hands of the dictatorial government. No one, including men and women, is safe from them. Even the journalists of the media are not spared. People's lives are now extremely insecure. If you criticize the leaders and workers of the ruling party or corruption. Violent attacks come as soon as the news is published. During the current government, more than half a hundred journalists have been killed and numerous journalists have been sued and attacked. The journalist couple Sagar-Runi has not been prosecuted in an era. Also, due to the lack of justice for the murder and torture of numerous journalists, there have been one murder after another. It is happening. If there was democracy and rule of law in the country, this kind of incident would not have happened again. The country, which was under the grip of corruption and misrule, has now become a miserable prison. The people of the country are now imprisoned under a one-party authoritarian rule. People have no option but to come together and take to the streets to save themselves from the ruthless oppression of this government. No. I pray for the soul of Nadeem, who was killed in the terrorist attack, and express my condolences to the bereaved family while demanding exemplary punishment for his killers.”

Message sender

Md. Taiful Islam Tipu

Deputy Secretary

Bangladesh Nationalist Party-BNP